Four Named to All-NAC Tennis Teams; Chasse Earns Rookie of the Year

Four Named to All-NAC Tennis Teams; Chasse Earns Rookie of the Year

WATERVILLE, Maine – Four Thomas College men's tennis players have been named to the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) East Division All-Conference Team while freshman Ryan Chasse (Fort Kent, Maine) also earned NAC East Rookie of the Year Honors.

Chasse has had a remarkable rookie campaign as a Terrier, tallying a near-perfect 5-1 record in singles and doubles at the No. 1 flight in NAC East action. Impressively, the freshman's only losses during the conference regular season were to the two-time NAC East Player of the Year, Gustav Jigrup, in singles and to the first team all-conference pair of Jigrup and 2016 NAC East Rookie of the Year, Alex Wright. Overall Chasse has compiled an 8-7 record at No. 1 singles and a 10-5 record at No. 1 doubles with partner Zachary Disch (Waterville, Maine). In his last 10 matches, he has compiled an 8-2 record in both singles and doubles. Chasse earned NAC East Player of the Week once this season, while also earning two NAC East Rookie of the Week honors. He was Thomas' selection to the NAC Sportsmanship Team.

Chasse was also named First Team All-Conference in singles and doubles, while Disch was named to the First Team All-Conference Doubles and Second Team All-Conference Singles. 

Disch played in the No. 3 spot this spring, going 5-1 in NAC singles action while also posting a 5-1 record in No. 1 NAC doubles with Chasse.

Freshmen Jared Waterhouse (Dayton, Maine) and Kaleb Payson (Lamoine, Maine) earned Second Team All-NAC Doubles for their outstanding play.

Waterhouse and Payson teamed up for a 5-1 record in NAC play on the No. 2 line.

Thomas enters this weekend's NAC East Division Championship Tournament as the No. 2 seed.  

2017 NAC East Division Men's Tennis All-Conference Teams

To view a PDF list of the All-Conference team click HERE  

First Team Singles
Dean Boodakian, Senior, Colby-Sawyer
Ryan Chasse, Freshman, Thomas            
Aaron Goldsmith, Junior, MCLA
Gustav Jigrup, Junior, Colby-Sawyer
Seth Marcil, Senior, Castleton
Alex Wright, Sophomore, Colby-Sawyer 

First Team Doubles
Colby-Sawyer - Dean Boodakian, Senior / Ryan Sawyer, Senior
Colby-Sawyer - Gustav Jigrup, Junior / Alex Wright, Sophomore
Thomas - Ryan Chasse, Freshman / Zachary Disch, Junior 

Second Team Singles
Quentin Barthe, Senior, Castleton
Zachary Disch, Junior, Thomas  
Ryan Mulder, Junior, Castleton
Kei Sako, Sophomore, Green Mountain
Ryan Sawyer, Senior, Colby-Sawyer
Robert Wabshinak, Senior, MCLA 

Second Team Doubles
Castleton - Quentin Barthe, Junior / Seth Marcil, Senior
MCLA - Aaron Goldsmith, Junior / Robert Wabshinak, Senior
Thomas - Kaleb Payson, Freshman / Jared Waterhouse, Freshman 

Player of the Year
Gustav Jigrup, Junior, Colby-Sawyer
Rookie of the Year
Ryan Chasse, Freshman, Thomas
Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year
Jeffrey Mason, Senior, MCLA
Coach of the Year
Trevor Grimshaw, 3rd season, MCLA 

Sportsmanship Team
Ryan Broderick, Junior, Colby-Sawyer
Ryan Chasse, Freshman, Thomas
Tyler Hall, Senior, Lyndon
Seth Marcil, Senior, Castleton
Jack Peterson, Sophomore, MCLA
Brady Rainville, Senior, Johnson State
Eric Wade, Senior, Green Mountain