Pilgrims Upset Terriers in Shootout for NAC Title

Pilgrims Upset Terriers in Shootout for NAC Title

WATERVILLE, ME – The six seeded New England College Pilgrims upset the top-ranked Thomas College Terriers in a penalty kick shootout, 4-2, for the North Atlantic Conference Championship on Saturday afternoon, following a 0-0 score after regulation and two overtimes.

In the shootout loss, the Terriers finish their 2016 season at 12-4-2 while the Pilgrims move on to the NCAA Division III Tournament.

In the 15th minute, the Terriers had their first opportunity as Tevin Reid (Dorchester, Mass. / Bunker Hill) rang the cross bar.  Adam LaBrie (Yarmouth, Maine, Yarmouth) followed up with a header and Pilgrim keeper Maxime Danis made a save to keep the game scoreless.

LaBrie came in alone for another chance in the 48th minute and once again Danis stood tall, keeping the game even.  The Pilgrims had an opportunity in the 79th as Michael Skarbelis headed the ball towards an empty net.  Terrier defender Zeon Robinson (Hamilton, Bermuda / Berkeley Institute) was on the goal line to head the ball away.

In the 99th minute of overtime, a crossing pass found the head of Willie Clemons (Paget, Bermuda / Warwick Academy), diving out to his left was Danis to make the save to keep his team alive. 

The game could not be settled in regulation and two overtimes, sending the match into penalty kicks.  In the opening round both keepers came up big, making a save each.  The Pilgrims scored on their next four opportunities while Thomas only netted two.  The shootout winner came from Conor Douglass to give the Pilgrims the North Atlantic Conference Championship.

Junior Drew Martin (Berwick, Maine / SMCC) turned aside all six shots in goal for the Terriers while Danis made ten saves for the Pilgrims.  Thomas outshot New England College 24-18 and held a 10-3 advantage in corners.


Following the match, the NAC All-Tournament Teams were named:

Michael Skarbelis, MVP – New England College

Maxime Danis – New England College

Rizy Misiri – New England College

Ronsard Masamba – New England College

Siad Hajir – New England College

Adam LaBrie – Thomas (ME)

Willie Clemons – Thomas (ME)

London Steede-Jackson – Thomas (ME)

Cody Gross – Husson

Josh Bean – Husson

Sawyer Shane – Castleton

Cameron Rossi-Crete – Castleton